Get involved (again)

You may recall some months ago I invited people to get involved in my 365 project, we I’m doing it again, this time to mark World Diabetes Day on 14th November 2011.

I am one of the 180,000 people in Ireland who has Diabetes, approximately  50,000 of the 180,000 are undiagnosed. I have Type 2 and have been living with it for nearly 4 years, in all likelihood I’ll be living with it for the rest of my life.

Diabetes awareness is something that deserves attention so I would like to mark World Diabetes day with a photo and that’s were you come in. Whether you have diabetes, know somebody with diabetes or know nothing about diabetes give me an idea for a diabetes themed photo or a photo with a blue (World Diabetes Day colour) theme.

At diagnosis, many people (I was one) feel that it’s the end of the world. It’s not, in fact once you get our diabetes under control, you will feel better than you have in a long time and once you maintain control, there is no reason you cannot live a long healthy life with diabetes. If you think you might have diabetes, see your Doctor and get checked.

For more information about World Diabetes Day or to learn more about diabetes, I would suggest you start by visiting Diabetes Ireland:

If you have Diabetes you will get useful information from Diabetes Ireland and I would also suggest you check out Diabetes Forums which is a community of Diabetics (of all flavours ;)) on the web. Over my 4 years I have gained huge help, support & information for Diabetes Forums.

So let’s have your ideas for a photo ….

If you have a blog or a photo blog, could I encourage you to “go blue” on 14th November to mark the day.

 

3 responses

  1. thanks for reminding me/us.

    24/10/2011 at 12:46

  2. Eimear Ni Laoire

    Hi David, Eimear here. my Dad is diabetic !! Love to all x

    20/10/2011 at 16:45

    • Hi Eimear, hope your Dad is doing well with managing his D.

      21/10/2011 at 12:40

Leave a Reply

