365 #354 – Christy

#354/365

Tonight a long time ambition was achieved, I got to meet my musical hero, Christy Moore. It all stemmed from a chance meeting between Christy and my Mother, who told him of my long history of disastrous attempts to see him play live in concert. Many years ago I had two sets of tickets to see him in the Olympia, but they concerts were cancelled as Christy became ill, then years later he was playing in the Point, I had 3 sets of tickets, but my Father became seriously ill while in Florida. It became known as David’s Christy Curse. A couple of years later, I saw him play live on the Tubridy show and was all set to meet him afterwards, when a mentally ill man tried to drive his car through doors into the reception of RTE, a security alert followed. My mother went on to tell him about my 365 project. Following the chat, Christy gave my mother his email address and asked that I contact him. Naturally I sent an email immediately, and to my delight I got a reply very quickly. Christy invited me to his concert as his guest and provided two tickets, such a generous gesture, and suggested that I might get a photo for my project afterwards.

Myself and my wonderful wife went along to the concert tonight, the seats were probably the best seats I have ever had at a concert. In with the tickets with an invitation to the after show event. The concert was simply superb, both Christy and Declan Sinnott were in flying form, the music was incredible and it felt like the play list had been picked with me in mind.

After the show, I finally got to meet the man. He is a complete gent, unassuming, warm and very friendly. He took time to sit with and chat with the small group of people, always ready with a laugh. He paid great complements to the audience and said he had loved the show, saying that the singing & energy from the crowd was excellent.

I also briefly met Declan Sinnott, another gent and a genius on the guitar.

To be honest I struggled to pick which shot to use for today’s 365, I have some that I’m very pleased with taken during the concert and some other portraits of Christy looking straight into the lens, but I picked this one as I felt it portrays the happy, engaging man I met.

Thanks Mum, for helping me fulfil this ambition.

Thank you for your generosity, time and the music Christy, you made my day and Christmas.

8 responses

  1. Wow, great picture and story. I’m SO jealous.

    25/12/2011 at 13:24

  2. Brilliant David! Delighted for you

    21/12/2011 at 14:06

  3. linking this! (see email)

    21/12/2011 at 13:12

    • sorry, that should read “liking this!”

      24/12/2011 at 08:36

  4. Fantastic story David. I’m delighted that you got to meet your musical hero. While I haven’t seen your other shots of Christy, I do like the one you’ve chosen and I agree with you that it shows a happy, engaging man. Well done 🙂

    21/12/2011 at 12:24

    • Thanks John, I’ll be putting some additional shots in pix.ie later

      21/12/2011 at 12:47

  5. Well done on the photo & getting to speak to the man himself.
    A lovely early Christmas present for you.

    21/12/2011 at 12:22

    • Thanks Shane, a very memorable night for me.

      21/12/2011 at 12:47

Leave a Reply

