Blackberries

Blackberry (low)

Today the funeral of one of Ireland’s most famous poets, Seamus Heaney, takes place. I didn’t study his poetry in school (guess I’m just too old) and my first exposure to his work was through my daughter and her homework. I like that he used simple English to express things, thoughts & feelings.

I took this photograph yesterday, while out walking with my Son and it reminded me of his poem “Blackberry Picking” especially the lines:

“Late August, given heavy rain and sun
For a full week, the blackberries would ripen.
At first, just one, a glossy purple clot” – Seamus Heaney

May one of Ireland’s greatest wordsmiths rest in peace.

3 responses

  1. Apt homage, lovely image.

    02/09/2013 at 14:20

  2. sfoxwriting

    I loved your article , which is why I followed you to, as I wish to keep track of your blog and see what else you have to offer the blogging world 🙂 please check out my latest blog feature a song by a young man called Kurtis Robinson Every like gives him a greater chance of making it .
    Thankyou in advance and I hope to talk to you more often.
    All the best
    Steven

    02/09/2013 at 11:27

    • Thanks Steven, interesting stuff from Kurtis

      03/09/2013 at 11:49

Leave a Reply

